TSDAV Dance Composers' Competition 2022

The TSDAV Dance Composers' Competition was held at the National Folk Festival in Canberra over Easter. The event ran for 1 ½ hours on the Piazza from 10am on the Monday morning.

Our judges this year were Sheree Greenhill, Stephen Bullock, and Judith Bailie, and the presenters Paul Wayper and Don Richmond.

The judges pronounced the Beatrice Klippel Memorial Trophy for General Social Dance should jointly go to **Cecilia Johnson** of Melbourne for **Ursula's Fancy**, a 3 couple longways set and to **Peter Foster** of Canberra for **Simply Elegant**, also a 3 couple longways set, and the VFMC Perpetual Trophy for dances for more Experienced Dancers go to **Keith Wood** of Baulkham Hills for **Crossing the Divide**, a 4 couple square set involving an interesting arching sequence representing the Dividing Range.

The dances this year were as varied and challenging as in previous events. WE had keen dancers ready to tackle them, and they were judged anonymously. Comments from the dancers were collected, and winners pronounced, and names of the devisors only announced after the judges had made and given their decisions.

Paul presented: Rising From The Ashes by Margaret Crichton, The Wentworth Wander by Patricia George, Ursula's Fancy by Cecilia Johnson, and Alison's Waltz by Anne Hayes.

Don presented: *The Melting Pot* by Kathy Potter, *Simply Elegant* by Peter Foster, *Crossing the Divide* by Keith Wood, and *Chelmer's Charm* by Patricia George.

George Ansell announced the winners of the competition in the Closing Concert in the Narragunnawali Stage on the Monday evening, presenting a trophy to Keith Wood. As Cecilia Johnson and Peter Foster were unable to attend the Closing Concert, their trophy will be presented at a later date.

MC for the event - George Ansell